Print this article
- 04/02/2020

AIHA Announces 2020 Named Awards

HPC Today

The American Industrial Hygiene Association® (AIHA) announced the recipients of the 2020 AIHA Named Awards, which honor individuals who have significantly contributed to the industrial hygiene and occupational and environmental health and safety professions.

AIHA president Kathy Murphy, CIH, said, “I am always amazed by the hard work and dedication that these IH/OH professionals demonstrate. They truly deserve this recognition of all their efforts and contributions to the profession and community.”
Acknowledging the importance of the winners’ contributions, she added, “It is because of every one of them that we can move a bit closer to healthier and safer workplaces. I am so proud of their continued commitment and congratulate all winners of the 2020 AIHA Named Awards.”
The Awards and Fellows Nominating Committee selects award winners. The committee, chaired by the current AIHA past president, also includes the AIHA past-past president and four other members selected from the general membership through the open call process. The six committee members represent academia, government, industry, and consulting, and included retired, late-, mid- and early career professionals; four Fellows; active volunteer group members; and active local section members. In addition, the AIHA CEO and AIHA President participate in the final discussions by the committee to ensure objectivity and fairness.
The AIHA Board is pleased to announce the AIHA Awards and Fellows Nominating Committee selections for the following named awards:
Alice Hamilton Award: L. Faye Grimsley, PhD, CIH, FAIHA; nominated by Kerry-Ann Jaggassar, CIH. This award is presented to an outstanding woman who has been engaged in industrial hygiene and occupational health (IH/OH) for at least 10 years, and who is dedicated to public and community service, social reform, and technological innovation.
Donald E. Cummings Memorial Award: Harry J. Beaulieu, PhD, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; nominated by Michael Amster, PE, CIH, CSP, CHMM, FAIHA. This award is bestowed on an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the knowledge and practice of the profession of industrial hygiene, and who has been acknowledged for his or her contributions outside the field (such as in environmental health and safety, occupational health, public health, or business).
Distinguished Service to AIHA Award: Carter B. Ficklen, III, CIH, CSP; nominated by Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; Cathy Hovde, CIH, CSP; Megan Canright, MPH, CIH; and Shannon H. Gaffney, PhD, MHS, CIH. This award is presented to an individual who has advanced industrial hygiene through unique technical contributions to the aims and goals of AIHA, proven leadership in the IH profession, and proven influence on public policy or social reform, or public and community service.
Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award: M. Andrew Maier, PhD, CIH, DABT, FAIHA; nominated by Jeanne Fallon-Carine, CIH. This award is given to the individual or group of individuals, company, academic institution, organization, or association that has made the most significant contribution to industrial hygiene in recent years through technical expertise, innovations, or scientific advancements. The Edward J. Baier Technical Achievement Award is sponsored by Apex Companies, LLC.
Kusnetz Award: Dana M. Hollins, CIH; nominated by Jennifer Sahmel, MPH, CIH, CSP, FAIHA; Megan Canright, MPH, CIH; and John Henshaw, CIH, FAIHA; and Shannon H. Gaffney, PhD, MHS, CIH. This award honors an industrial hygienist under the age of 40 who is currently employed in the private sector and shows promise of leadership in the industrial hygiene profession. The Kusnetz Award is sponsored by Mrs. Florence Kusnetz.
Social Responsibility Award: National Council for Occupational Safety and Health (National COSH); nominated by Scott P. Schneider, CIH, FAIHA. This award is presented to an individual, entity, group, or organization that works inside organizations to develop and promote practical solutions to social responsibility issues related to industrial hygiene or environmental health and safety issues. The Social Responsibility Award is sponsored by Apex Companies, LLC.